Robert Downey Jr. Will Receive MTV Generation Award

Marvel’s Avengers: Age Of Ultron Cast To Present Robert Downey Jr. With MTV Generation Award During 2015 MTV Movie Awards

MTV today announced that the remarkable Robert Downey Jr. will receive the MTV Generation Award during the “2015 MTV Movie Awards” that will air LIVE on Monday, 13 April at 7am (TH/WIB), 8am (PH/SG) and 9am (MY) from Nokia Theater L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California. Downey Jr., known as one of Hollywood’s most versatile actors, will be presented the award by his Marvel’s Avengers: Age of Ultron co-stars Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo and Jeremy Renner. The main show repeats on the same day at 6.30pm (WIB), 7.30pm (PH/SG), 8.30pm (MY) and 9.30pm (TH).

In advance of the film’s April premiere in Asia, fans can also look forward to the world premiere of an exclusive 90-second clip from the blockbuster film that will be introduced by the cast during the telecast.

“Throughout his career, Robert Downey Jr. has mesmerized audiences by capturing the humanity in larger-than-life characters like Charlie Chaplin, Sherlock Holmes and Tony Stark,” said Stephen Friedman, President of MTV. “He’s a brilliant actor and a Hollywood icon, and we are proud to recognize his tremendous passion and talent with this year’s Generation Award.”

The MTV Generation Award is the “Movie Awards” highest honour, acknowledging an actor who has engaged the MTV audience throughout their career. Past recipients include Mark Wahlberg, Jamie Foxx, Johnny Depp, Reese Witherspoon, Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler, Sandra Bullock, Mike Myers, Tom Cruise and Jim Carrey.

Marvel’s Avengers: Age of Ultron cast joins the star-studded line-up for this year’s show, including host Amy Schumer, Comedic Genius recipient Kevin Hart, Trailblazer Award recipient Shailene Woodley and confirmed presenters Miles Teller, Reese Witherspoon, Vin Diesel, Sofia Vergara and Jimmy Kimmel. Additional presenters and performers will be announced.

In addition, fans can begin voting today for the “2015 MTV Movie Awards” Best Hero award, presented by Mtn Dew® Kickstart™, which will be voted entirely via social media hashtags. The nominees include:

Bilbo Baggins (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies) – #VoteBilboMTV
Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1) – #VoteKatnissMTV
Star-Lord (Guardians of the Galaxy) – #VoteStarLordMTV
Thomas (The Maze Runner) – #VoteThomasMTV
Tris Prior (The Divergent Series: Insurgent) – #VoteTrisMTV

Two-time Academy Award® nominee, Robert Downey Jr. will next appear in the highly anticipated The Avengers: Age of Ultron which is a follow up to Joss Whedon’s The Avengers in 2012. Robert has received praise from critics and mass audiences alike for his performance in the role of ‘Iron Man’- in addition to the two Avengers installments, he has starred in 3 Iron Man films- Iron Man (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), and Iron Man 3 (2013) which have all had tremendous box office success.

This year’s “Movie Awards” nominees span every film genre from dystopian universes (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 and The Maze Runner) to heart-felt coming of age stories (The Fault In Our Stars and Boyhood), out-of-this-world comedies (Guardians of the Galaxy, Neighbors, The Interview, The Wedding Ringer and Top Five), real-life heroes (Selma and American Sniper) and more. Fans can cast their votes for their favorites at through Saturday, 11 April. Voting for “Movie of the Year” will continue throughout the live broadcast of the show.

The “2015 MTV Movie Awards” will once again officially kick-off the summer blockbuster season, promising to deliver yet another epically funny, explosive, over-the-top show that features fan favourite films, actors and musicians. The telecast will air across MTV’s global network of more than 60 channels and 200 digital media properties reaching more than half a billion households around the world.

The 2015 MTV Movie Awards are sponsored by Spy, the comedy event of the year from 20th Century Fox.

Jesse Ignjatovic of Den of Thieves, Lee Lodge and Garrett English serve as Executive Producers for the “2015 MTV Movie Awards.” English also serves as Executive in Charge for MTV. Barb Bialkowski serves as Producer. Wendy Plaut serves as Co-Executive Producer and Executive in Charge of Celebrity Talent. Amy Doyle is Executive in Charge of Music and Celebrity Talent. Joanna Bomberg is Executive in Charge of Music Talent.

You might also like
Related Posts